Governors – Structure

Hartsdown Governors

The Governors meet as a full governing board and as two committees 'Finance and Resources' and 'Education'.


Governors Staff
Lesley Johnson (Chair) Harvey Ovenden
Yvonne Barnes Jessica Gipson
Cathy Evaristo Boyce (Vice)  
Cheryl Toby  
Rachel Hill  
David Silman  
Matt Tate  



Governors Staff
Christopher Argent (Chair) Mel Smith (Head of Finance)
Dr Mike Shepherd  
Anne McNulty  
Susanne Murphy  
Chris Panteli  
Matt Tate  

Key Responsibilities

To ensure that governors have a strategic impact on the school they also have nominated responsibilities for areas of the school. As part of this responsibility they will visit the school and will often talk to teachers and children to ascertain the school's progress in the key area.

Area Lead
Safeguarding & Child Protection
Whole School Development Plan
Chris Panteli – Chair of Governors
Effectiveness of Leadership & Management Chris Argent
Quality of Teaching & Learning, Assessment & KS3 Lesley Johnson & Yvonne Barnes
Personal Development & Welfare 
Pupil Premium
Cathy Evaristo Boyce & Susanne Barnes
Outcome for pupils & KS4 Lesley Johnson & Mike Shepherd
IBCP, 6th Form & Careers Anne McNulty & Cheryl Toby
History & Geography  Lesley Johnson
RE & Citizenship  Cheryl Toby
Science Mike Shepherd
Modern Foreign Languages Anne McNulty